I suggest you ...

how to disable the update notification at startup?

Everytime I startup Outlook (2013) I get an update notification for OnePlaceMail. How can I disable this pop-up? I do NOT want to update.

0 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

aplasschaert shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

7 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Michael Basinski commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Thanks Zeeshan,

    Understood that this thread pertained to the OnePlaceMail Lite version.

    However, the line that threw me was 'customers who have purchased the full product, are not prompted, and therefore do have the option to stay on their current release'. Hence, my question.

    So to you response, and for my understaning, I now understand it that OnePlaceMail (full version) is not updated via a live update service and is only updated manually via deployment software (e.g.: SCCM).

    Thanks again,

    Michael

  • Adminzeeshan.ahmed (Admin, OnePlace Solutions) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hi Michael,

    Thank you for your inquiry.

    In this thread the question is related to OnePlaceMail Lite (free version), However, for the fully licensed OnePlaceMail version the update is not done automatically. The updates are done by administrator either by group policy or by SCCM or whatever tool is used in your organisation to deploy software.

    Regards,
    Zeeshan

  • Michael Basinski commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hello,

    So based on this thread am I correct in my understanding that if I have packaged and deployed a full (i.e: licensed) version of OnePlaceMail:

    * The software will automatically update when new releases are made available.
    * Users will not be prompted and therefore do have the option to stay on the current release.

    If this is the case, what would occur if the users doe not have the necessary administrative rights to deploy the application?

    Thanks in advance for any response.

    Michael

  • Elissa commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hi Angelo,

    Unfortunately this cannot be fooled, the pop up will continue to appear.

    We encourage users to upgrade to the latest release to ensure they continue to experience enhancements and any bug fixes in the product.

    Customers who have purchased the full product, are not prompted, and therefore do have the option to stay on their current release.

    Kind regards

    Elissa

  • aplasschaert commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hi Elissa,

    Thanks for your quick reply.

    As described in my question, I do NOT want to update. The product is working fine and I do not need support. How does the update-check works? Can we fool this for example by using a fake proxy? Any other suggestions?

    Best regards,

    Angelo

  • Elissa commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hi

    Thank you for your inquiry.

    The pop up can not be disabled. Due to the nature of supporting the free version of our software, we require Lite/Express installs to be using the latest version.

    Kind regards

    Elissa

Feedback and Knowledge Base